Concealment Solutions Holster and Belt Review, Pt. 1

So there you have it, I purchased my belt and holster from Concealment Solutions. There’s a good chance you’ve never heard of them. Although you might have, if you listen to the Gun Dudes Podcast. Specifically, I purchased the Python Gun Belt, and the Black Mamba IWB holster. This is Part 1 of a two part review. This first part will be about the Customer Service of Concealment Solutions, which I believe to be worth commenting on all by itself. But first, to lead into the review, I’d like to give you the story of why I ended up purchasing products from the small company.

About a month and a half ago, I was on the market, primarily for a gun belt (I had been using a department store dress belt, that just wasn’t up for the task of holding up a gun very well), and secondarily an IWB holster. I really liked my Blackhawk Serpa CQC, but I liked the wardrobe options afforded to my by an IWB. The Blackhawk really limited what I could wear. After researching, I found a good price on a gun belt in my size. The same dealer also had a Crossbreed Supertuck that I had decided to get as well. I threw on an Uncle Mikes Kydex Magazine pouch onto the order just to give me a place to carry my spares.

The order went through from this particular dealer just fine. I received a confirmation email. A day or two later, I received a shipping confirmation. Usually, I don’t open and read these (since most of the time, I know what’s being shipped), but I decided to today for some reason. In the confirmation, all it showed was the magazine pouch as having been shipped. I checked the order status, and sure enough, the belt and holster were back ordered. The estimated shipping date was about a week from this time. I thought it wasn’t a big deal, and I could wait a week. Well, a week went by, and I checked the order status again. They had pushed the estimated shipping date back another week, on both items. I was mildly frustrated, but decided it wasn’t worth cancelling at this point since I had so much trouble finding a belt in the first place. Of course, a week later, the estimated shipping date had changed again. I was pretty upset at this point, but figured I’d waited this long, I can give them another week. The obvious happened, and of course, they pushed the date back again. I emailed to cancel the order.

At this point, I was really upset, and I didn’t really have a clear idea of where to get the belt and holster I wanted. I searched around again, and simply couldn’t find what I was looking for. I then remembered that while listening to the Gun Dudes Podcast, they had mentioned a small holster making company called Concealment Solutions. He sold belts and leather and kydex “Crossbreed type” holsters. This company also had a 30 day trial policy. Basically, if you’re unhappy, within 30 days, you can return your products for a full refund. The owner of the company also was committed to customer service, at least this is what he had said when he was on the Gun Dudes show. I was also intrigued by the fact that all of their products were handmade, and when I went to their website, the prices were comparable to mass produced national brands, sold by national retailers. As a matter of fact, I had received a larger refund from the first company I tried, than what the whole order cost me from Concealment Solutions. I bit the bullet and bought a standard Black Mamba holster for my G19, and a Black Python belt.

I want to make this clear, I ordered it, even though on the website it said it would take 5-7 days for delivery. I assumed this was business days. I placed the order on Monday November 19. To me this meant I shouldn’t expect shipment until sometime between Monday November 26 and  Wednesday November 28. I had already waited a while, so I wasn’t in a terrible hurry at this point. My belief was that the time delay from purchasing to shipment was due to the fact that everything was hand made, and that very little inventory is kept in stock, except for raw materials. Given the price, and the thought of hand made quality, it didn’t bother me at all.

But here’s where things get interesting. On Monday the 26th, I received an email from Concealment Solutions. The person who emailed me stated that they were waiting for a past due leather shipment to make my belt, and he was expecting that shipment today, and that he would make sure my items were shipped as soon as possible. He also asked for me T-Shirt size so he could send me a shirt as a thank you for being patient. This was not a canned email. But what really intrigued me was it wasn’t some customer service person who emailed me, it was Jason Christensen, the President of the company himself. I was amazed at the level of customer service. In today’s word, you simply do not expect that level of service. A couple days later, I was notified that  my order had shipped and it arrived on Friday the 30th. In the box was my holster, a belt, and a Black Mamba T-Shirt, in my size.

I posted both experiences because I wanted to compare and contrast two different styles of Customer Service. In the first case, this is what we’ve come to expect. I was upset that when I ordered there was no mention at all that anything was back ordered. I never received and email or anything. In the second case, I received and email from the president of the company apologizing for the delay, before the estimated shipping date had even expired. Based on my customer service experiences alone, I would gladly buy from Concealment Solutions again if I were looking for a product they sell.

Now, some additional information about Concealment Solutions. They will work with you. If you have some weird gun, he will do what he can to make a holster for you. In many cases, he might not be able to do it without your actual gun, but he will let you know ahead of time if can or can’t do it. Do you want to carry your gun with a light or laser? He can customize a holster to fit those. Do you want a spare mag pouch on your holster? He can do that to. If there’s something you want to do, just ask him. He’s also committed to quality. If there is something wrong with your product, he will fix it. Is the kydex too loose, or too tight? Tell him what’s wrong, send it back, and he’ll fix it for you. If you’re in the market for a gun belt or holster, check out Concealment Solutions. You cannot go wrong.

Stay tuned for Friday where I’ll post the second part to this review which will be talking about the belt and holster that I ordered, and what I think about them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Concealment Solutions Holster and Belt Review, Pt. 1

  1. Pingback: What I carry | My 2nd Amendment Journey

  2. Pingback: Spare No Expense | My 2nd Amendment Journey

Leave a Reply

